PDA

View Full Version : Knee pains

Stephen_Williams
01-26-2005, 12:53 AM
Hi,
I just started practicing/learning the 24 forms from a local instructor in my area. This is only the second week of classes and I am noticing that my right knee hurts a bit. Mind you that most of the movements we have been doing is concentrated on the right side. Does/did anyone also get this when they first started and what is the remedy? My instructor tells me to keep the stances more compact and to not put so much weight on them during transitions and to not extend the knee beyond the toe in the bow stances.
THanks!
A Tai Chi Newbie.

carolinew
01-26-2005, 12:37 PM
You probably need to be more aware of your posture. Are you prone to aches and pains anyway?

Follow your teachers advice. Good luck.

BillT
01-26-2005, 01:47 PM
I and most of my friends had knee pain when starting Tai Chi. As your teacher notes, not extending the knee past the toes is one issue. For me, it turned out to be important to line up my upper leg parallel to the foot, especially in postures like, "Snakes Creeps Down;" and moves which twist the knee like "Sweep the Lotus" can be destructive to the knee. As you learn these postures, if it doesn't work well, don't use strength to "force" the position. Stop and examine the mechanics of the movement so you know exactly where to lift and replace your toe, how far apart your feet need to be, and so on so as to eliminate torque on the knees. This means you won't pivot gracefully at first, but you will learn the technique properly and without injury. Bill

soraya
01-26-2005, 06:57 PM
How is the pain? Maybe you can confirm with a physio or sports physician whether it has a medical reason. MOstly when the pain is not venomous it is caused by overstraining the tendons and ligaments. Gradually it disappears.

The above posts are already very good. Start without bending the knees too much first and compact stances, then as you become more confident, lower them gradually.