PDA

View Full Version : Tai Chi and mental illness

mikeb
06-02-2005, 06:52 AM
Dr Lam,
I am a friend of Ralph Dehner. He practices Tai Chi in Cincinnati. I am a beginner and have learned the 6 forms and soon to get the 24 forms tape. I am a mental health/drug and alcoholism counselor. My question is regarding whether Tai Chi benefits persons with serious mental disorders such as schizophreia, Bipolar Disorder, Depression and addictions.
Thankyou.

soraya
06-02-2005, 09:17 AM
Mike

I have been teaching Tai Chi in a clinic for psychosomatic medicine. From my experience it cannot replace medication, proper counselling, specialized psychotherapy and group therapy but esp. with the younger patients I saw a clear improvement in their anxiety or sometimes depressive conditions after Tai Chi lessons. Moving Tai Chi is better in this case than static qi gong. Sometimes when the patient is not ready, the stillness in static qi gong may cause a flow of uncontrolled thoughts.

Bill and Richard Livingston are good Tai Chi players and psychotherapy professionals, so pls. wait for their advice. I am not a psychiatrist but I collaborated with psychiatrists, psychologists and physical therapists.

carolinew
06-02-2005, 10:23 AM
I.m not a health care professional, but have seen the positive effects tai chi has on my friends special needs children. As I am not a teacher, I keep things informal, and there is a possitive effect in the terms of improved behaviour and better concentration.

I do agree with Soraya, it is better to wait for the right people to reply, but thought personal experience might help.

BillT
06-02-2005, 10:34 AM
Mike-