PDA

View Full Version : Tai Chi and headstands?

Tammi
11-02-2004, 10:37 PM
I'm new to Tai Chi, and started with Dr Lam's DVDs and loved every minute of what I was doing, but I really wanted some time with an instructor. So I just went to my first actual Tai Chi *class* tonight, and came back confused.

Half of the class was what I expected, moves about what I'd been learning from the DVD or had seen in the previews of other DVDs.

The other half of the class went into what I would swear was yoga?? Is there a form of Tai Chi that is very similar to Yoga, involving headstands and moving into strange contortions on the floor and various stretches that I *know* I did when I tried Yoga a while back...

I asked the instructor about that and he said no, it was similar, but it was Tai Chi. I have a hard time understanding him, so have no idea what form, but I'm curious if that's a standard Tai Chi form and something I should expect in any Tai Chi class, or if it's a style I just hadn't seen before so should keep looking, or if he's blending the two or what?

Unfortunately, what I wanted was essentially an instructor to work with the 24 Forms and move on into other forms as seen on Dr Lam's DVDs. Not the floor exercises. :/

soraya
11-02-2004, 11:05 PM
Tammi

Nice to have another Tai Chi enthusiast here! To be honest, i hae been practicing TC since childhood and teaching for some close to 20 years and never heard about headstands. The theory is that qi or life force comes from the earth, travel from the foot, up the leg, back, down shoulders, elbow and express itself through the hands. Some teacher teach a mixture of yoga, other body-mind work and Tai Chi. However, i heard that some martial arts are performed on the head,Tai Chi is a martial art.